Area Commanders

Majors Ethan and Sue Frizzell were appointed as the Nashville Area Commanders and assumed their post in late June, 2017. The Frizzells have served as Salvation Army officers for over twenty years.

Majors Ethan and Sue Frizzell have recently served in Sarasota, Florida. Previously the Frizzells were the Area Commander of The Greater New Orleans Area Command with responsibility for the Center of Hope and Hurricane Katrina Response. The Frizzells have also served as the corps officers of Columbia, South Carolina as well as Fayetteville and Thomasville, North Carolina.

Major Ethan Frizzell achieved a Masters in Public Administration from Harvard Kennedy School.  Current studies are integrating behavioral sciences with subjective quality of life in order to maximize individual choice. Major Frizzell’s passion is to develop policy, service, and learning in community.

Major Sue Frizzell is recognized for her disciplined manner of quality programs of The Salvation Army. Her capabilities to encourage others in mission connect training and opportunity for ministry for the young, and the young of heart.  Major Frizzell is skilled at developing officers and personnel for the benefit of changing lives.

Ethan, Sue, with their two children, Canaan & Hallie, enjoy spending time outdoors on the water, camping and family. There is great excitement to enjoy the sights and sounds of the Nashville area.


Major Ethan Frizzell – Area Commander

Major Sue Frizzell – Associate Area Commander and North Campus Officers

Harold Witherspoon – Executive Director of Development

April Calvin – Director of Social Services

Misty Ratcliff – Development & Communications Manager

Anneke Valk – Volunteer Coordinator

Mike Yonnotti – Property Maintenance Director

James Smith – Pathway of Hope Director

Carlos Lowe – Red Shield Kids Club Director

Samantha Forcum – Supportive Housing Director

Tiana Jordan – Human Resources

Lts. Nathaniel & Raquel Revaula South Campus Officers

Lt. Alyssa Haygood East Campus Corps Officer

Lt. Brittany SanfordNorth Campus Assistant Officer

2016 New Advisory Board Members

2017 Advisory Board

The Salvation Army Advisory Board is a special group of local business, community, and civic leaders who share their time, talents, and treasures to help The Salvation Army fight poverty in Middle Tennessee. 

Individuals interested in joining The Salvation Army Advisory Board should attend one of our monthly Talk and Tour to familiarize yourself with our impact on the impoverished community. To inquire about attending please contact Harold Witherspoon, Executive Director of Development at 615-242-0411 or  Harold.Witherspoon@uss.salvationarmy.org to schedule a time to visit. Our standardized tours are held every third Thursday of the month beginning at 12 Noon.

Chairperson – Jimmy Spradley – Standard Candy Company

Vice Chairperson – Jed Dodd – Optum

Treasurer – Robert Britton – Business Consultant

Women’s Auxiliary Chairperson – Judith Bracken

John AndersonCommunity Volunteer

*Sam Bartholomew – Stokes & Bartholomew, P.A. 

Bob Britton  – Community Volunteer

– Charles BryanBryan Financial Services, Inc.

*Helen CummingsCommunity Volunteer

Paul DavidsonWaller, Lansden, Dortch & Davis

Ronald Davis  – Trevecca Nazarene University         

*William DennyDenny Properties

Jed Dodd Optum 

*Ben Gambill, Jr.Community Volunteer

*Ralph GlassfordCommunity Volunteer

Jeff GraySpecialty Care

Daniel GreenHCA Healthcare 

Drew HartInflammo

Sam Harwell Big Time Toys

Joshua HaydenLipscomb University

Jane Haynes  – Community Volunteer

Robert HiltonCommunity Volunteer       

Jim Horrar Community Health Systems              

Rob HoskinsDVL Public Relations

Walker MathewsR.C. Mathews Contractor

Lynn McPheetersCommunity Volunteer

Derek MillerVanderbilt University Medical Center

Ric MillerWillis of Tennessee

Kevin Moore  Attorney at Law 

Rebecca Munn Info-Works, Inc 

*Dortch Oldham Jr. Keller Williams Realty

*Sidney PilsonLattimore, Black, Morgan & Cain, PC

Biff PorterLAZ Parking Realty Investors

Steve PuseyTrevecca Nazarene University

Douglas RemkeFirst Bank

Paula RobertsTSU

Lynn ScarolaCommunity Volunteer   

*W.E. Sheriff – American Retirement Corporation

Cathy Shull – Community Volunteer

Brandi Simms – Country Music Association

Fred Smith – Community Volunteer  

Abby Spaulding – Community Volunteer  

Jimmy Spradley – Standard Candy Company

Roddy L. Story – Tennessee Bank & Trust

Tom Stumb – Truxton Trust

*William E. Turner, Jr. – Merrill Lynch

Randy Wolcott – North Star Real Estate Advisors

Carolyn Yates Rambo – Pinnacle Asset Management  

Dana Zelenik – Community Volunteer  

*Denotes Emertius Members
– Denotes Lifetime Members